Here's the 2023 Polaris Music Prize Long List

Featuring Feist, Andy Shauf, Daniel Caesar, Jessie Reyez, Zoon and more

BY Exclaim! StaffPublished Jun 13, 2023

Canada's Polaris Music Prize has unveiled its 2023 long list. The 40-album long list for the annual prize can be found in full below.

On this year's long list, Feist is the only prior Polaris winner to appear, having previously earned the distinction with her 2011 album Metals.

In total, 221 albums were considered for the long list by the Polaris Music Prize's 205-member jury.

The 2023 long list also features efforts by previous short list nominees including Alvvays, Andy Shauf, Jessie Reyez, Daniel Caesar, Snotty Nose Rez Kids, Zoon, U.S. Girls, Dan Mangan and the Sadies, and also marks the long list debut of artists like Aysanabee, Eliza Niemi, Gayance, Home Front, Nico Paulo, Khotin, poolblood, Planet Giza, JayWood and Dylan Sinclair.

The long list will soon be pared down to a 10-album short list, due to be revealed on July 13. From those 10 titles, a winning album will be revealed during the Polaris Gala, taking place September 19 at Massey Hall in Toronto. The chosen Polaris Music Prize winner will be awarded a $50,000 grand prize.

The 2022 Polaris Music Prize was awarded to Pierre Kwenders for his album José Louis and the Paradox of Love

Past Polaris winners also include Cadence Weapon (2021), Backxwash (2020), Haviah Mighty (2019), Jeremy Dutcher (2018), Lido Pimienta (2017), Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014) and Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013).

2023 Polaris Music Prize Long List:

ALL HANDS_MAKE LIGHT - Darling the Dawn
Alvvays - Blue Rev
Aquakultre - Don't Trip
Aysanabee - Watin
Badge Époque Ensemble - Clouds of Joy
Begonia - Powder Blue
Bibi Club - Le soleil et la mer
BIG|BRAVE - nature morte
Philippe Brach - Les gens qu'on aime
Mariel Buckley - Everywhere I Used To Be
Daniel Caesar - NEVER ENOUGH
Chiiild - Better Luck in the Next Life
Feist - Multitudes
Debby Friday - Good Luck
Gayance - Mascarade
Ghostkeeper - Multidimensional Culture
Home Front - Games of Power
JayWood - Slingshot
Khotin - Release Spirit
Thierry Larose - Sprint!
Murray Lightburn - Once Upon a Time in Montreal
Isabella Lovestory - Amor Hardcore
Dan Mangan - Being Somewhere
N NAO - L'eau et les rêves
Tami Neilson - Kingmaker
Eliza Niemi - Staying Mellow Blows
Nico Paulo - Nico Paulo
Planet Giza - Ready When You Are
poolblood - mole
Jessie Reyez - Yessie
The Sadies - Colder Streams
Jairus Sharif - Water & Tools
Andy Shauf - Norm
Dylan Sinclair - No Longer in the Suburbs
Snotty Nose Rez Kids - I'm Good, HBU?
Alexandra Stréliski - Néo-Romance
U.S. Girls - Bless This Mess
Witch Prophet - Gateway Experience
Yoo Doo Right - A Murmur, Boundless to the East
Zoon - Bekka Ma'iingan

Latest Coverage