Here Are the Winners of the 2019 Indigenous Music Awards

Here Are the Winners of the 2019 Indigenous Music Awards
On Friday (May 17), the Indigenous Music Awards were presented to artists at Winnipeg's Club Regent Event Centre in a ceremony that coincided with the Manito Ahbee Festival.

Awards were handed out in 21 categories, celebrating music that was created by First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples on Turtle Island.

"It's really an amazing time to see the community support our artists and to help raise up the Indigenous music industry in this country through the backing of the Indigenous Music Awards," IMA manager Jacquie Black said in a statement.

In addition to the awards, songwriter Ernest Monias was honoured with the IMA's Lifetime Achievement Award. Erica Daniels was honoured with the Indigenous Film Award, while Anachnid was presented with the 2019 TD Indigenous Songwriter Award.

It was also revealed that the 2020 Indigenous Music Awards will take place in Edmonton. Find full list of winners below, with all the winning artists in bold.

2019 Indigenous Music Awards Winners:

Best Blues Album:

The Gary Sappier Blues Band - Party Time!
Robert "Freightrain" Parker - Outside Ourselves
Cory Morin  - When I Rise

Best Country Album:

Carolina East - Crossroads
D Johnson - K Town
Don Amero – Evolution
Matt James - A Miner's Prayer
Trent Agecoutay - Now ...and Then

Best Electronic Album:

DJ Krayzee Kree – Future Generations
Edzi'u - Kime Ani

Best Folk Album:

Aasiva - Aasiva
Beatrice Deer – My All to You
Clkwes - ISKO
Diyet & the Love Soliders - Diyet & the Love Soldiers
Thea Hopkins - Love Come Down

Best Gospel Album:

Erin Aubichon - Erin Aubichon
Murphy Platero - Butterflies, Horses and Guitars
Yvonne St. Germaine – Country Christmas

Best Hand Drum Album:

Beatrice Twance-Hynes - Indian Chief's Daughter
Joe Tohonnie Jr. - Journey Into a New Direction
Laura Grizzlypaws – Come Home
R-N-B Round Dance Songs - R-N-B Round Dance Songs

Best Instrumental Album:

Ghosthorse - From the Continuum
Jamie Medicine Crane – Honouring Life
Jan Michael Looking Wolf and Robin Gentlewolf - Flute Dance
Kelvin Mockingbird - Night Echo Star Seed
Randy Kemp/Artificial Red - Rez Radio

Best International Indigenous Release:

Alexandro Querevalu - Colors of the Rainbow
La Sexta Vocal - IPSTÄJK WITPÄ
Membda - Bajo El Sol (Under the Sun)
Samuel Phoenix - Shantel: The Approach
Solju - Ođđa Áigodat (New Times)

Best Inuit, Indigenous Language, or Francophone Album:

Angela Amarualik - Angela Amarualik
Laura Grizzlypaws - We are Children of the Land
Mike Paul - Origine

Best Music Video:

Artson - "Home"
Beatrice Deer - "Fox"
Don Amero - "Church"
JB the First Lady - "The Most Unprotected Girl"
Supaman - "Miracle"

Best New Artist:

Aasiva - Aasiva
Angela Amarualik - Angela Amarualik
Janel Munoa – Howls From Deep in the Woods
Q-052 - Rez Life
The Firestone Band - Life Lived

Best Pop Album:

Mimi O'Bonsawin - Connected
Rellik - Signal From Earth
Sandra Sutter - Cluster Stars
Shon Denay - On the Rocks

Best Pow Wow - Contemporary Album:

Cree Confederation - Medicine Horse
Northern Cree - Nitisanak-Brothers and Sister
Northern Voice - Kokawino aski: Guardians of the Land
Young Spirit – Red Dress Special

Best Pow Wow - Traditional Album:

Chippewa Travellers - Waseyasige: Shining Brightly
Eastern Eagle - Mimajualuksi'kw - It Gives Us Life
Wabanaki Confederacy – Journey of the Drum

Best Producer/Engineer:

Thor Simonsen - Angela Amarualik, Angela Amarualik
Dallas Arcand - DJ Krayzee Kree, Future Generations
Carmen "Hellnback" Omeasoo - Hellnback, #Fourteen91
Vince Fontaine and Chris Burke-Gaffney - Sandra Sutter, Cluster Stars
John-Angus MacDonald, Tim Vesely , Darren Magierowski, Jill Zimmermann, Joao Carvalho - Midnight Shine, High Road

Best Radio Single:

Celeigh Cardinal - "There Ain't No Way"
Logan Staats - "The Lucky Ones"
Snotty Nose Rez Kids - "Savages"
Supaman - "Somewhere" feat. Northern Cree

Best Radio Station Program - Promoting Indigenous Music:

CBC Radio: Unreserved
Deya Miller - Late Nights with Deya Miller
Indigenous Sounds
Native Voice One: Indigenous Music with Larry K

Best Rap/Hip-Hop Album:

Artson - Brave Star
Buggin Malone – Humanity Volume I
Hellnback - #Fourteen91
Jah'kota - Woke
JB the First Lady - Righteous Empowered Daughter

Best Rock Album:

Levi Platero - Perspective
Midnight Shine - High Road
NADJIWAN - Tomahawk Rock
Ndn Soul - The Best of NDN Soul
Samantha Crain - You Had Me at Goodbye