Here Are the 2017 BreakOut West Winners

Andy Shauf, Corb Lund, Dan Mangan and 100 mile house are among those taking home awards
Here Are the 2017 BreakOut West Winners
BreakOut West is in full swing over in Edmonton, and the annual event has now begun rolling out the annual Western Canadian Music Awards and Industry Awards.

At this point, the awards have only been given out for the Artistic categories. So far, the big winner has proven to be Andy Shauf, who has taken home both Pop Artist of the Year and Songwriter(s) of the Year. Other winners include Corb Lund (Roots Solo Artist of the Year), Dan Mangan (Rock Artist of the Year), Jesse Gander (Producer of the Year), 100 mile house (Roots Duo/Group of the Year) and the Lytics (Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year), among others.

You can see the complete list of the winners announced so far down below.

Still to come are the Industry Award winners, which will be revealed on Saturday (September 16).

Along with all those, the 2017 Heritage Award will be going to CKUA's Ken Regan, the Kevin Walters Industry Builder Award will be given to the late Kathy Kirby, and the Hall of Fame inductee will be Paul Brandt.

BreakOut West runs until September 17 in Edmonton. You can view the complete list of nominees for the remaining awards here.

2017 Western Canadian Music Awards Artistic Award Winners:

Blues Artist of the Year:

Big Dave McLean (MB)
Harpdog Brown (BC)
James Buddy Rogers (BC)
Ryan McNally (YT)
Steve Kozak Band (BC)
Kenny "Blue Boss" Wayne (BC)

Children's Artist of the Year:

Ginalina (BC)

Madame Diva et Micah le Jeune Voyageur (MB)

Stella Swanson and the Rosie Joyfuls (BC)

The Oot n' Oots (BC)

Will Stroet (BC)

Classical Composition of the Year:

"Magnetic North" - Carmen Braden (NT)

"Pots 'n Pans Falling" - Edward Top (BC)

"Immersion" - Jordan Nobles (BC)

"Raven Tales" - Marcus Goddard (BC)

"Choir Practice, A Comic Opera in One Act" - Stephen Chatman (BC)

Electronic/Dance Artist of the Year:


Esette (AB)

I M U R (BC)

iskwé (BC)

Kytami (BC)

Indigenous Artist of the Year, presented by Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN):

Blue Moon Marquee (AB)

Cindy Paul (AB)

Indian City (MB)

Jade Turner (MB)

Jay Gilday (AB)

Jazz Artist of the Year:

Al Muirhead (AB)

Michael Kaeshammer (BC)

Quatuor André Lachance (BC)

Quinn Bachand's Brishen (BC)

Steve Kirby's Oceanic Jazz Orchestra (MB)

Pop Artist of the Year:

Andy Shauf (SK)

Dear Rouge (BC)

Jocelyn Alice (AB)

Ruth B (AB)

The Zolas (BC)

Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year:


Factor Chandelier (SK)

Merkules (BC)

Snak The Ripper (BC)

The Lytics (MB)

Rock Artist of the Year, presented by Radio Starmaker Fund:

Dan Mangan (BC)

Mobina Galore (MB)

Scenic Route to Alaska (AB)

The Matinée (AB)

The Pack AD (BC)

Roots Solo Artist of the Year:

Corb Lund (AB)

Jen Lane (SK)

Joe Nolan (AB)

Maria Dunn (AB)

Sarah Jane Scouten (BC)

Spiritual Artist of the Year:

Heritage Hill (BC)

Jaylene Johnson (MB)

Jon Bauer (AB)

Steve Bell (MB)

Warren Dean Flandez (BC)

Video Director of the Year:

Alek Rzeszowski - Yes We Mystic "No Harm" (MB)

Anthony Creech - Andino Suns "Aire Libre" (SK)

Brandon Fletcher - Nuela Charles "Crumbling Down" (BC)

Dylan Roberts - King Dylan "Untouchable" (AB)

Zach Wilson - The Dead South "In Hell I'll Be In Good Company" (SK)

World Artist of the Year:

Andino Suns (SK)

Casimiro Nhussi (MB)

Jocelyn Petit (BC)

Kelly Bado (MB)

Papa Mambo (MB)

Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year, presented by Canadian Music Centre:

Alan Rinehart (BC)

Daniel Janke (YT)

duo corvi (BC)

Standing Wave (BC)

Vancouver Intercultural Orchestra & Laudate Singers (BC)

Country Artist of the Year, presented by Dauphin's Countryfest:

Aaron Pritchett (BC)

Dan Davidson (AB)

Doc Walker (MB)

Madeline Merlo (BC)

The Washboard Union (BC)

Francophone Artist of the Year:

Alpha Toshineza (MB)

Ariane Mahrÿke Lemire (AB)

Kelly Bado (MB)

Ponteix (SK)

Shawn Jobin (SK)

Instrumental Artist of the Year:

Adam Dobres (BC)

Five Alarm Funk (BC)

Fond of Tigers (AB)

Kent Sangster's Obsessions Octet (AB)

The Fretless (BC)

Metal/Hard Music Artist of the Year:

All Else Fails (AB)

Black Thunder (SK)

Soul Mates (SK)

Striker (AB)

Untimely Demise (SK)

Producer of the Year, presented by Nimbus School of Recording & Media:

Andy Shauf - Andy Shauf 'The Party' (SK)

Clayton Bellamy - The Dungarees (AB)

Jesse Gander - The Pack AD 'Positive Thinking' (BC)

Jesse Zubot - Jesse Zubot/Fond of Tigers (BC)

Russell Broom - Rebecca Lappa/David Bradford/JP Maurice/The Static Shift (AB)

Roots Duo/Group of the Year:

100 mile house (AB)

Big Little Lions (BC)

Kacy & Clayton (SK)

Karrnnel Sawitsky & Daniel Koulack (SK/MB)

The Bills (BC)

Songwriter(s) of the Year, presented by The Society of Composers, Authors, and Music Publishers:

Andy Shauf - "The Magician" (SK)

Corb Lund - "Washed-Up Rock Start Factory Blues" (AB)

Sam Tudor - "Joseph In The Bathroom" (BC)

The Zolas - "Swooner" (BC)

Alexa Dirks (Begonia) & Matt Schellenberg - "Juniper" (MB)

Urban Artist of the Year:

Damian La Grange (AB)


DGS Samurai Champs (SK)

Nuela Charles (AB)

Sophia Danai (BC)

Visual Media Composer of the Year, presented by Green Sky Labs Inc.:

Factor Eight - "The Lion" (SK)

James Murdoch - "Fishcamp Soundtrack" (AB)

Jared Robinson - "Music is a Part of All Our Lives" (SK)

Matthew Schellenberg - "Lovesick" (MB)

Mitch Dorge - "The Advocate" (MB)