Great Bloomers Announce 'Distant Fires,' Premiere New Track

Great Bloomers Announce 'Distant Fires,' Premiere New Track
Earlier in 2012, Great Bloomers inked a deal with Dine Alone Records and promised to release a new full-length through the label before the year was out. Sure enough, the Toronto roots rock outfit just announced Distant Fires, due out September 18.

Like the recent seven-inch "Something More," Distant Fires was produced by Chris Stinger (Timber Timbre, Ohbijou). The album includes that single plus its B-side, "Sunday Clothes," and the rest of the 11 songs reportedly follow the folk rock template mapped out in those songs.

According to a press release, some of the new tunes are "brooding with Leonard Cohen grit," while others "[erupt] into Springsteen-like anthems." The arrangements, which are heavy on guitar and organ, are said to be "simultaneously vast and dense." There's no title track, but there are consecutive songs called "In the Distance" and "The Fire Burns Strong."

Look for Great Bloomers to promote Distant Fires with a Canadian tour throughout the fall and winter. Until then, stream the single "I Wanna Die Young" below or download it for free right here.

Distant Fires:

1. Something More
2. Nighttime
3. I Wanna Die Young
4. In the Distance
5. The Fire Burns Strong
6. Any New Lover's Prey
7. Sunday Clothes
8. Palisades
9. Slowly in Your Gaze
10. Pale Morning Strangers
11. Fear Will Make a Fool of You