Future History Drop Their Ambitious 'Loss:/self' Debut

Future History Drop Their Ambitious 'Loss:/self' Debut
As label-less underground releases go, albums don't get much more ambitious than Future History's Loss:/self. The debut full-length from the Toronto band is a concept album that features 40 instruments and a whopping 35-person guest vocal/percussion ensemble.

In a statement, the band explained that the title and themes on the album concern "the human relationship; technology, social or anti-social media, fear and the growth and dominance of the false ego over the true self. All of these themes are carefully woven in an evolving uneasiness as the record unfolds."

Recording took place over an eight-month period in Montreal, New York and Ontario, and the album comes featuring a sample of a whale "that produced the wrong frequency, which consequently ostracized her from other whales because she didn't communicate properly."

The sessions were produced by the band and Theo Posthumus and the results were mixed by Laurence Currie (Wintersleep, Holy Fuck, Hey Rosetta!).

Loss:/self is currently available digitally and will be released on vinyl this summer. Scroll past the tracklist below to stream the entire record. It can be purchased from Bandcamp and, if you like what you here, keep your eyes peeled for that eventual vinyl release.


1. Ornamental State
2. Leaves
3. Good Little Robot
4. The Unfortunate Occupation of the Machine Man
5. Play the Part
6. (Don't) Let This Go
7. Surrounded By Faces
8. Coincidence
9. Hold On/Let Go
10. The Changing
11. Everything
12. Erasable Ink on a Lost To-Do List (Scraps of Me)
13. In This Sleep:/Creatures