Frightened Rabbit Make a Major Move to Atlantic Records

Frightened Rabbit Make a Major Move to Atlantic Records
Following the release of The Winter of Mixed Drinks earlier this year, Scottish indie rock sensations Frightened Rabbit should drop the "indie" from their genre tag, as they have signed to a major label. While previously housed on the FatCat Records roster, the group announced that they are now under contract with Atlantic Records.

Drummer Grant Hutchison released the following statement to Pitchfork:

This week, we signed a deal with Atlantic Records and after some time off next year to write new material, we will be releasing record no. four with this great label. It feels very special to be part of a label with such a great history and we're really looking forward to working with everybody we have met to this point. We also feel it's important to mention how great the past four years have been with FatCat and although it is time to move on, we are greatly appreciative of the amazing job they've done.

To prove just how amicable this decision was, FatCat chimed in with its own statement, saying, "FatCat is honoured to have released three brilliant Frightened Rabbit records and to have had a hand in the evolution of such a phenomenally talented and hardworking band. As their fans, we look forward to hearing their future efforts, and as their friends, we look forward to celebrating future successes along with them."

The news was originally broken by The Pop Cop. Strangely, in an interview with that site before releasing Mixed Drinks, frontman Scott Hutchinson decried the major label system, saying, "If you sign to a major then the album wouldn't have sounded like it did, it might not have come out at the same time, we might not have been free to put the content on as we wished, things might have been shifted around... Everything we have achieved has been earned."

Prior to their Atlantic debut, Frightened Rabbit will release their single for "The Loneliness & the Scream" on December 8 via FatCat. As previously reported, the release will include a cover of Elton John and Kiki Dee's "Don't Go Breaking My Heart," featuring a guest appearance from the Hold Steady's Craig Finn.