​French Press Announces 'Youthful Trouble' LP, Premieres New Single

​French Press Announces 'Youthful Trouble' LP, Premieres New Single
Winnipeg-based alt-pop singer-songwriter Chantel Emond is ready to reveal her debut album under the guise of French Press. Called Youthful Trouble, it will arrive on October 14.
The record delves into themes of "repression, rebellion and empowerment," and lead single "Plato's Cave" in particular was inspired by a summer of listening to 20-something anthems by the likes of Best Coast and Wavves. The rest of the songs encapsulate familiar millennial feelings of self-doubt, but also show off the fearlessness and resilience that comes with trying new things at a young age.
"It's restless pop echoing the vibrations of your youth," Emond explains in a statement. "There's a vibe about the record; it's hurt, but tough. You're pushing up against a wall and trying to make something of yourself."
Youthful Trouble was written between stints at Thai and Moroccan hotels, where Emond was playing in cover bands. The album was later recorded at Winnipeg's Collector Studio with producers William Grierson and Arthur Antony.
You can get a glimpse into the impending full album right now with the premiere of the aforementioned single "Plato's Cave." Bring the bouncy, surf-y sounds to life by giving it a spin below.

Youthful Trouble:

1. Plato's Cave
2. Back On the Mattress
3. Under the Gun
4. Obsess About Me
5. Make Your Mistakes
6. Comfort Me
7. Doesn't Feel Like Home
8. Spin Cycle
9. Double Check