Former Delgado Emma Pollock Readies New Solo Album

Former Delgado Emma Pollock Readies New Solo Album
Following the amicable split of her band the Delgados in 2005 and the release of her debut solo disc Watch the Fireworks in 2007, UK singer-songwriter Emma Pollock is ready to release her sophomore album.

The record, titled The Law of Large Numbers, is due March 2, and was recorded throughout 2009, with production from Pollock's husband and former band-mate Paul Savage. For the LP, Pollock has returned to the Delgados-founded record label Chemikal Underground following the release of her debut album on fellow British indie 4AD, and the album is a reported return to a more "angular" sound from the "accessibly melodic approach of her debut," according to the press release.

The release continues by saying, "The Law of Large Numbers is crammed with unconventional arrangements and by Emma's own admission, was an almost entirely self-serving project. So if returning to Chemikal Underground and the creative alliances that fuelled the Delgados has restored Emma's conviction to pursue her own instincts, then we should all be extremely grateful as her new album is a complex, intelligent and hugely compelling piece of work."

Pollock will support the album with a UK tour, but no North American dates have yet been announced.

The Law of Large Numbers:

1. "Hug The Piano (And)"
2. "Hug The Harbour"
3. "I Could Be A Saint"
4. "Red Orange Green"
5. "Nine Lives"
6. "House On The Hill"
7. "Letters To Strangers"
8. "The Loop"
9. "Confessions"
10. "The Child In Me"
11. "Chemistry Will Find Me"
12. "Hug The Piano (Or)"

Tour dates:

3/15 Bristol, UK -€“ Bristol Academy

3/16 London, UK -€“ London Tabernacle

3/17 Oxford, UK - Academy 3

3/18 Norwich, UK - Norwich Arts Centre

3/19 Glasgow, UK - King Tuts

3/20 York, UK - The Duchess

3/21 Birmingham, UK - Hare & Hounds

3/22 Manchester, UK - Academy 3