Flowers of Hell Reveal 'Odes' Details, Share Joy Division Cover

Flowers of Hell Reveal 'Odes' Details, Share Joy Division Cover
Way back in April, Flowers of Hell delivered "Muchomůrky Bílé," the anticipated first single off their then-just-hinted at LP Odes. The song, which paired the act with Czech dissident musician Ivo Pospíšil, has now been confirmed as being one of 11 cover tunes on the LP, which drops October 2 through Optical Sounds/The Orchard.

A press release for the Toronto-born, "transatlantic experimental orchestral group" explains that their fourth album differs from 2010's abstract, 45-minute piece O by homing in on the group's favourite songwriters. Some of the saluted artists include Bob Dylan, Neutral Milk Hotel, Stereolab, Siouxsie & the Banshees, and both Lou Reed and the Velvet Underground. The PR stresses that "this is the first time the Flowers of Hell will release music featuring lyrics or verse-chorus-verse structures."

The album features more than 16 musicians, led by founding member Greg Jarvis, who co-produced the album with Peter Moore (John Cale, Neil Young, Cowboy Junkies). Aside from Pospíšil, some of the other guest players include British Sea Power's Neil Wilkinson and fellow Flowers of Hell founder and Bat for Lashes collaborator Abi Fry.

Down below, you can peep the multi-member unit's take on Joy Division's "Atmosphere" via a new animated video that also offers up a visual nod by replicating the artwork for the Brit post-punk troupe's Unknown Pleasures LP (which didn't feature "Atmosphere," but is still a nice gesture).

A record release party for Odes takes place September 21 at Toronto's Tranzac.


1. On Avery Island-April 1st (Neutral Milk Hotel)
2. Atmosphere (Joy Division)

3. Muchomurky Bile / Destroying Angel (Plastic People Of The Universe)
4. Walk On The Wild Side (Lou Reed)
5. Run Run Run (The Velvet Underground)
6. The Last Beat Of My Heart (Siouxie & The Banshees)
7. Mr. Tambourine Man (Bob Dylan)
8. Super Electric (Stereolab)
9. Over And Over (Fleetwood Mac)
10. O Superheroin (Laurie Anderson - Lou Reed)
11. Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft (Klaatu)