Feist Announces New Album 'Multitudes,' Shares Three New Songs

You can hear "In Lightning," "Hiding Out in the Open" and "Love Who We Are Meant To" now

BY Kaelen BellPublished Feb 14, 2023

Feist is back! For the past two years, Feist has been performing her Multitudes concert series, which premiered new music — written improvisationally on the road — and featured an immersive, in-the-round setup. 

And now, that music is getting an official release. Her sixth studio album Multitudes is arriving April 14 on Interscope, and she's previewing it today with three new songs; "In Lightning" is a clamorous, percussive beast of a track, while "Hiding Out in the Open" and "Love Who We Are Meant To" are gentler acoustic numbers draped in strings. 

"The last few years were such a period of confrontation for me, and it feels like it was at least to some degree for everyone," Feist said in a statement accompanying the album release. "We confronted ourselves as much as our relationships confronted us. It felt like our relational ecosystems were clearer than ever and so whatever was normally obscured — like a certain way of avoiding conflict or a certain way of talking around the subject — were all of a sudden thrust into the light. And in all that reassessment, the chance to find footing on healthier, more honest ground became possible, and the effort to maintain avoidance actually felt like it took more effort than just handing ourselves over to the truth."

The album was recorded in Northern California with co-producers Robbie Lackritz and Mocky. Along with her touring band, Feist worked on the LP with multi-instrumentalists Gabe Noel and Shahzad Ismaily.

Exclaim! spoke with Feist back in 2021 about her Multitudes concert series, and she described the shows — and music — as being inspired by what was "just incredibly acute — you know, the beginning and end of life." 

Multitudes is the follow-up to 2017's Pleasure

Last September, Feist pulled out of Arcade Fire's tour following the sexual misconduct allegations against Win Butler. Feist's merchandise proceeds from the tour's first two shows in Dublin went to Women's Aid Dublin, an organization dedicated to stopping domestic violence across Ireland. In a lengthy and thoughtful essay regarding the allegations and her decision to exit the tour, she wrote, "It can be a lonely road to make sense of ill treatment. I can't solve that by quitting, and I can't solve it by staying. But I can't continue."

Listen to the new songs and see the Multitudes tracklist below. 


1. In Lightning
2. Forever Before
3. Love Who We Are Meant To
4. Hiding Out in the Open
5. The Redwing
6. I Took All of My Rings Off
7. Of Womankind
8. Become the Earth
9. Borrow Trouble
10. Martyr Moves
11. Calling All the Gods
12. Song for Sad Friends

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage