Exclusive: Hannah Georgas Unveils Debut Album

BY Alex HudsonPublished Feb 15, 2010

Hannah Georgas isn't yet a household name, but if you've watched TV at any point in the past few months, there's a good chance you may have inadvertently stumbled across her music. Georgas's songs have appeared in a slew of TV soundtracks (Flashpoint, Peak Season, Heroes, Make It or Break It, Degrassi: The Next Generation), and she even penned a song for Wal-Mart's ubiquitous back-to-school commercial.

The Vancouver-based songwriter has managed to achieve all this without even releasing an album, meaning that fans have had to satisfy themselves with just her EP, The Beat Stuff, which was released in January of last year. Now, Georgas will finally be delivering her debut full-length, This Is Good, on April 27 via Hidden Pony/EMI.

The disc was recorded over two months last spring with co-producers Howard Redekopp (Tegan & Sara, the New Porngraphers) and Ryan Guldemond (Mother Mother). Unlike the folk pop leaning of her EP, This Is Good features a much wider stylistic range, making forays into shimmering new wave ("Chit Chat"), jittery disco-rock ("Dancefloor") and even ukulele-driven cabaret ("Something for You").

"There's not one vibe for the whole record," Georgas tells Exclaim! in an interview. "There's a lot of different sounds and feelings. There's some songs that are light and poppy and some dark, orchestral ballads."

"Thick Skin" is surely the latter, its moody minor-key progression fleshed out by sweeping strings, ominous drums and chilling, spaghetti western-style whistling. Georgas recently released a video for the song, featuring her crawling buck naked through the snow and mud (see embedded video below).

Of the experience, Georgas laughs, "For about the first half an hour, I was like, 'Oh my God, this is crazy - I'm naked!" Despite her risque attire (or lack thereof), the clip is more creepy than titillating, and as Georgas notes, "It's not intended to be a sexy video. It's not sexy to me at all."

Although "Thick Skin" is the first video, the lead single will be the decidedly more radio-friendly "Bang Bang You're Dead," a candy-coated rocker laden with bubblegum keyboards, 8-bit electro beats and the voices of children shouting out the titular lyric.

Prior to the album's release, Georgas will be embarking upon a brief tour, playing a handful of dates in Ontario and Quebec before ending up in Toronto for a show at CMW.

"For the dates that are leading up to Canadian Music Week, I'll have an upright bass player, Peter [Carruthers of Said the Whale]" reveals Georgas, adding that tour-mates Aidan Knight and We Are the City will join her on stage for some songs.

Look below for an exclusive first look at the tracklist for This Is Good. Scroll down further for the full list of tour dates.

This Is Good:

1. "Chit Chat"
2. "Lovesick"
3. "Dancefloor"
4. "The Deep End"
5. "Lovers Breakdown"
6. "Thick Skin"
7. "This Is Good"
8. "Bang Bang You're Dead"
9. "Your Ghost"
10. "Shine"
11. "Something for You"

Tour dates:

3/4 Kingston, ON - Clark Hall Pub *
3/5 Quebec, QC - Le Cercle *
3/9 Ottawa, ON - The Observatory (Algonquin College) *
3/12 Toronto, ON - The Drake (CMW)

*with Aidan Knight and We Are the City

Latest Coverage