Tracey Thorn Covers White Stripes, Sufjan Stevens, Ron Sexsmith for Christmas Album

Tracey Thorn Covers White Stripes, Sufjan Stevens, Ron Sexsmith for Christmas Album
Following a reunion and a reissue campaign for British pop act Everything But the Girl, singer Tracey Thorn has announced plans to release a Christmas album later this year.

No stranger to the yuletide spirit, Thorn covered Sufjan Stevens's "Sister Winter" a couple years back and that track will appear on the forthcoming album. Titled Tinsel and Lights, the new record will also feature covers of Stephin Merritt, Ron Sexsmith, the White Stripes and Joni Mitchell, plus a pair of original tunes from Thorn. Guests on the holiday record include Everything But the Girl bandmate Ben Watt and Scritti Politti's Green Gartside.

In a statement, Thorn said about the album: "I've always wanted to make a Christmas record. Every year, when the Christmas albums start appearing in November, I get jealous and wish I had one coming out. Last year, I made a resolution to get recording in January to be ready for the following Christmas. And so that's just what I did. They're not all strictly Christmas songs, but if they mentioned winter or snow or even just being cold, that was good enough for me."

Tinsel and Lights will arrive on October 30 via Merge Records, and you can check out the artwork above. Below, see the tracklisting and hear Tracey Thorn's cover of Sufjan Stevens' "Sister Winter."

Tinsel and Lights:

1. Joy (written by Tracey Thorn)
2. Hard Candy Christmas (Dolly Parton cover)
3. Like a Snowman (Stephin Merritt cover)
4. Maybe This Christmas (Ron Sexsmith cover)
5. In the Cold, Cold Night (White Stipes cover)
6. Snow (written by Randy Newman)
7. Snow in Sun (written by Green Gartside of Scritti Politti)
8. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
9. Tinsel and Lights (written by Tracey Thorn)
10. River (Joni Mitchell cover)
11. Taking Down the Tree (ft. Green Gartside) (Low cover)
12. Sister Winter (Sufjan Stevens cover)
13. 25th December (Everything But the Girl) (U.S. LP bonus track)