Emptyset Return with 'Recur' Album

Emptyset Return with 'Recur' Album
Bristol, UK-based electronic experimenters James Ginzburg and Paul Purgas have quickly amassed a worldwide reputation for their out-there compositions as Emptyset. The hard-working duo have had a relatively quiet 2013, with only one EP so far compared to multiple releases in 2012. Now it all makes sense, however, as they've been hard at work on a new full-length.

The new release is called Recur and showcases nine new compositions from the project. A press release suggests that the album hones in on time, structure and recursion, ultimately "examining how notions of time interact with both experience and form, and the resulting modes through which this affects sound through compression and rarefaction and the forcing of signal thresholds to their critical point."

If you want that sort of heady academia translated into sound, you'll have to wait for the release of Recur via Raster-Noton on October 28. The album will arrive on CD, vinyl and as a digital download. For now, you can check out the tracklisting below.

Thanks to Resident Advisor for the tip.


1. Origin

2. Fragment

3. Disperse

4. Order

5. Absence

6. Lens

7. Instant

8. Recur

9. Limit