Eleanor Friedberger Unveils Sophomore Solo Album

Eleanor Friedberger Unveils Sophomore Solo Album
Eleanor Friedberger stepped away from her regular duties in Fiery Furnaces in 2011 to deliver her solo debut Last Summer, and the indie artist is ready to go it alone again for a second set called Personal Record.

Merge releases the 12-song effort June 4, but you can get a sneak peek of the album now via a download of "Stare at the Sun," which is available for the price of an email address in the widget down below.

The song cycle was produced by Eric Broucek and was reportedly co-written between Friedberger and musician/novelist Wesley Stace (aka John Wesley Harding). A press release notes that the LP is about love, but isn't necessarily a record of her own experiences, but rather a universality. " I want you to feel like the songs are about you," Friedberger said in a statement.

The PR goes on to call the record "a thoughtfully crafted tale of memory and place couched in the organic pop of her '70s idols."

You can also catch a trailer full of instrumental snippets from the LP down below. It also has Friedberger showing off some footage of a recent trip to Jamaica and noting that "Stare at the Sun" will be available on 7-inch.

Personal Record:

1. I Don't Want to Bother You

2. When I Knew

3. I'll Never Be Happy Again

4. Stare at the Sun

5. Echo or Encore

6. My Own World

7. Tomorrow Tomorrow

8. You'll Never Know Me

9. I Am the Past

10. She's a Mirror

11. Other Boys

12. Singing Time

Eleanor Friedberger - Personal Record (Album Teaser) from Merge Records on Vimeo.