Details Emerge for Expanded C86 Reissue

Details Emerge for Expanded C86 Reissue
Last year, we learned that NME's classic 1986 indie pop cassette compilation C86 would be getting an expanded reissue. At long last, details for the release have finally emerged.

As Slicing Up Eyeballs reports, the compilation was initially planned to be released as a double CD, but it has now been expanded into a triple-disc set.

The first disc will feature the original 22-track indie pop collection. From there, the second and third discs will include rare or previously unreleased tracks from the same era of scrappy indie pop. Among the artists included on the comp are Primal Scream, Happy Mondays, the Pastels, the Jasmine Minks, Pop Will Eat Itself, Biff Bang Pow!, the Wedding Present, and the Jesus and Mary Chain, among others.

Sweetening the deal even further, the box will come with a hefty booklet that includes an 11,500-word essay from Neil Taylor, one of three NME writers who compiled the original C86 cassette.

The C86 reissue will arrive on June 9 via Cherry Red Records. The release's tracklisting is available below.

C86: Deluxe Edition:

Disc one:

1. Primal Scream "Velocity Girl"

2. The Mighty Lemon Drops "Happy Head"

3. The Soup Dragons "Pleasantly Surprised"

4. The Wolfhounds "Feeling So Strange Again" *

5. The Bodines "Therese"

6. Mighty Mighty "Law"

7. Stump "Buffalo" *

8. Bogshed "Run To The Temple" *

9. A Witness "Sharpened Sticks"

10. The Pastels "Breaking Lines" *

11. Age Of Chance "From Now On, This Will Be Your God" *

12. Shop Assistants "It's Up To You" *

13. Close Lobsters "Firestation Towers" *

14. Miaow "Sport Most Royal"

15. Half Man Half Biscuit "I Hate Nerys Hughes (from The Heart)"

16. The Servants "Transparent"

17. Mackenzies "Big Jim (there's No Pubs In Heaven)" *

18. Big Flame "New Way (quick Wash And Brush Up With Liberation Theology)" *

19. We've Got A Fuzzbox And We're Gonna Use It "Console Me" *

20. Mccarthy "Celestial City" *

21. The Shrubs "Bullfighter's Bones" *

22. The Wedding Present "This Boy Can Wait (a Bit Longer!)"

Disc two:

1. The June Brides "Just The Same"

2. Yeah Yeah Noh "Another Side To Mrs Quill"

3. The Primitives "Lazy"

4. Jesse Garon & The Desperadoes "Splashing Along"

5. The Band Of Holy Joy "Rosemary Smith"

6. The Mctells "Virginia M.C." *

7. B.m.x. Bandits "E102″

8. One Thousand Violins "Like One Thousand Violins"

9. The Dentists "Peppermint Dreams"

10. The Membranes "Everything's Brilliant"

11. The Weather Prophets "Worm In My Brain"

12. The Brilliant Corners "Meet Me On Tuesdays"

13. Talulah Gosh "I Told You So

14. Pigbros "Hedonist Hat"

15. 14 Iced Bears "Inside"

16. St. Christopher "Go Ahead, Cry" *

17. The Groove Farm "Captain Fantastic" (demo)

18. Kilgore Trout, " The Peacock Nose" *

19. The Jesus And Mary Chain "Inside Me"

20. The Hit Parade "You Didn't Love Me Then"

21. That Petrol Emotion "Mine"

22. The Turncoats "One Breath" *

23. A Riot Of Colour "Skink" (Flexi Version) *

24. Paul Groovy & The Pop Art Experience "Tune In, Turn On, Trip Out" **

25. The Railway Children "Darkness And Colour"

Disc three:

1. The Chesterf!elds "Sweet Revenge"

2. The Jasmine Minks "World's No Place"

3. Stitched-Back Foot Airman "Why" *

4. Razorcuts "Sad Kaleidoscope"

5. Treebound "Story I Remember" *

6. The Nightingales "Part Time Moral England"

7. Episode Four "Strike Up Matches"

8. The Avons "Everything's Going Right" *

9. Meat Whiplash "Here It Comes"

10. King Of The Slums "Spider Psychiatry" *

11. Happy Mondays "Freaky Dancin"

12. Biff Bang Pow!, " Love's Going Out Of Fashion"

13. Blue Aeroplanes "Tolerance" (Remix)

14. Lawrence & The Comfortable Society "Heartache" *

15. Laugh "Take Your Time, Yeah" (Flexi Version) *

16. North Of Cornwallis "Billy Liar" **

17. Pop Will Eat Itself "Mesmerized"

18. Benny Profane "Hang Fire" *

19. Go! Service "Real Life"

20. Janitors "Good To Be The King" *

21. The Claim "Gullible's Travels"

22. The Auctioneers "Scoop" **

23. Noseflutes "Perfect Cockney Hard-on" *

24. The Love Act "Hep Clothes **

25. The Enormous Room "I Don't Need You" *

* new to CD

** previously unreleased