Dears Frontman Murray A. Lightburn Preps Debut Solo Album

Dears Frontman Murray A. Lightburn Preps Debut Solo Album
Over the past decade plus, Murray A. Lightburn has released a string of albums as the frontman of the Dears, and now the Montreal songwriter is preparing to drop his first-ever solo album, MASS:LIGHT, in August.

The album is described in a press release as "an electro-pop opera" utilizing drum machines and synths. It reportedly mixes '80s soul and funk with orchestral pop influences, with sonic touchstones including Rick James, Brian Eno, Burt Bacharach and the Dazz Band, plus the films Dune and Blade Runner.

This "theatrical, electronic musical" reportedly didn't fit the aesthetic of the Dears, so Lightburn set it aside for a solo project. It was mixed by Adrian Popovich (Sam Roberts, Elephant Stone, the Dears).

The tracklist is below. Scroll past that to watch a video for the foul-mouthed opening track, "Motherfuckers." Also below is the non-album instrumental "The Only Light."

UPDATE: The album is due out on August 20.

According to a prior report by Under the Radar, the album will be available exclusively on vinyl via mail order.


1. Motherf­­­uckers

2. Never See Light

3. A Thousand Light Years

4. Through Storms

5. From Dreams


7. War Halls

8. I Believe, I Believe

9. In Pieces