Darkstar Reveal 'News from Nowhere'

Darkstar Reveal 'News from Nowhere'
This month, dubstep-dabbling London trio Darkstar deliver their Warp debut via the "Timeaway" 12-inch single, but the band have bigger plans for 2013, as evidenced by the newly announced News from Nowhere LP. The album hits retailers February 5.

According to a press release, the upcoming sophomore set, which follows 2010's North, was written by band members James Young, Aiden Walley and James Buttery at a secluded house in the countryside of West Yorkshire. Young explained that the setting influenced the song cycle.

"Every place warrants a story. No matter where it is, how quiet, remote or disconnected," he said in a statement. "There are moments in people's everyday lives, no matter how subtle, that can be documented and talked about in great detail. The instances spiral and ascend and take on their own course, altering the perception of how even the slightest change in a day can be felt deeply."

After the writing sessions wrapped, Darkstar and producer Richard Formby (Sonic Boom, Wild Beasts) set up camp in the group's home studio armed with tape machines and old-school analogue synthesizers. The record is said to be influenced by "English prog-rock and obscure techno," though it's also informed by the troupe's affinity for production from the likes of Lex Luger and Portishead's Geoff Barrow.

You can check out the tracklisting, which perhaps obviously includes the sweet, music-box tick of "Timeaway," down below. The album cover is up above.

News From Nowhere:

1. Light Body Clock Starter

2. Timeaway

3. Armonica

4. -

5. A Day's Pay For A Day's Work

6. Young Heart's

7. Amplified Ease

8. You Don't Need A Weatherman

9. Bed Music - North View

10. Hold Me Down