Caribou's Dan Snaith Announces New Album as Daphni

Caribou's Dan Snaith Announces New Album as Daphni
Dan Snaith, the electronic mastermind behind Caribou, has announced plans to release a new LP under his Daphni moniker.

Titled JIAOLONG, the album will arrive on October 16 via Merge and Snaith's own Jiaolong label, but will be available digitally as of October 9.

As Pitchfork reports, Snaith had this to say about the inspiration behind the new record:

I'd fallen back in love with moments in small, dark clubs when a DJ puts on a piece of music that not only can you not identify but that until you heard it, you could not have conceived of it existing. In contrast to live concerts where bands predictably string together the songs from their most recent album, DJs have the potential to blindside you, be genuinely surprising. As a music producer, the parameters of dance music seem wider. The rhythmic underpinnings are liberating rather than constraining, allowing the rest of the elements to coalesce from a broad palette.

He continued to strike against the current state of EDM, explaining:

I've been surprised by the number of transcendent moments that I, sober and in my mid-30s, have had in clubs in the last few years, both as a punter and as a DJ. Against my expectations, there's some magic in it still. The clichés about the collective consciousness of clubs still seems to hold water in some special cases. Set against the backdrop of bland and functional dance music and the mind-numbing predictability of the EDM barfsplosion currently gripping the corporate ravesters, there is a small world where dance music lives up to its potential to liberate, surprise, and innovate. It's there that I hope Daphni has a place.

The album artwork for JIAOLONG is pictured above and you can check out the tracklist below. You can also scroll to the bottom to watch the new video for album cut "Ye Ye."


1. Yes, I Know
2. Cos-Ber-Zam - Ne Noya (Daphni Mix)
3. Ye Ye
4. Light
5. Pairs
6. Ahora
7. Jiao
8. Springs
9. Long