Cymbals Eat Guitars Return with 'LOSE'

Cymbals Eat Guitars Return with 'LOSE'
Following 2009's Why There Are Mountains debut, New York indie rockers Cymbals Eat Guitars signed with Barsuk and released their sophomore album Lenses Alien in 2011. Now, a full three years later, they've prepared a follow-up.

The new record is called LOSE and sees frontman Joseph D'Agostino exploring themes of loss. Particularly death, as his friend and collaborator Benhamin High passed away during the recording.

D'Agostino discussed this theme with the following statement:

LOSE is a very apropos title because it refers not only to losing Ben, but also it's about a sort of nostalgia, a longing for a time when music meant everything to you and your friends, and it seemed like one great rock record could change everyone's life the way it changed yours. It's about being in mourning for your long-held belief that music could literally change the world. That's the contradiction at the heart of LOSE... You're disillusioned, but somehow you can do nothing else but rail against that feeling mightily and try, once again, to make a record that makes you and everyone else "wake up wanting to listen to records."

LOSE was recorded with Dinosaur Jr. and Sonic Youth producer John Agnello and is set to arrive on August 26 via Barsuk.

The album's artwork is available above, while the tracklisting is below along with a stream of album opener "Jackson."


1. Jackson
2. Warning
3. XR
4. Place Names
5. Child Bride
6. Laramie
7. Chambers
8. Lifenet
9. 2 Hip Soul