Cut Copy Document Melbourne's Dance Scene with 'Oceans Apart' Comp

Cut Copy Document Melbourne's Dance Scene with 'Oceans Apart' Comp
Cut Copy hail from Melbourne, Australia, and for fans around the world who are curious about what else is going on Down Under, the band have unveiled a compilation called Cut Copy Presents: Oceans Apart. It's due out digitally on November 11, with two vinyl EPs culled from the comp to follow on November 18 on Cutters Records.

This 19-track selection was curated and mixed by Cut Copy themselves, and it consists of new and exclusive cuts from their hometown. It's described in a press release as a "bumping 80-minute non-stop dance party" that acts as a document of the band's local underground dance scene. Cut Copy don't contribute any tracks to the comp themselves, meaning that this is all about letting other artists shine.

"We've always found deep inspiration in the music of our home city," frontman Dan Whitford said in a statement. "It's where Cut Copy started, as just one band in a potent community of unique and likeminded artists. But it also continues to inspire and surprise us, with great new music constantly bubbling to the surface. The motivation behind the compilation came from a late night conversation in a Melbourne club with a friend of mine. As we excitedly shouted over the noise of the dance floor, one of us said, 'The dance scene in Melbourne has gotten so interesting over the past few years — someone should really document this!' We looked at each other knowingly, and from that moment, the idea for Oceans Apart was born."

See the tracklist for the full digital version below. Scroll past that to hear NO ZU's "Raw Vis Vision," which has a joyous worldbeat dance groove anchored by clattering conga percussion.

Cut Copy Presents: Oceans Apart:

1. Knightlife - "Don't Stop"
2. Andras & Oscar- Music Is My Life"
3. Michael Ozone - "Oxygen"
4. Statue - "Statue Theme"
5. Turkish Prison - "Overboard"
6. Ara Koufax - "Brenda"
7. Myles Mac - "Suburban Odyssey"
8. Fantastic Man - "Robotic Temptation"
9. NO ZU - "Raw Vis Vision"
10. Coober Pedy University Band - "Kookaburra"
11. A+O - "Take Me"
12. Nile Delta - "Aether"
13. Tornado Wallace - "Circadia 14. Speed Painters - "Total Person"
15. Len Leise - "Call of Kati Thanda"
16. Bell Towers - "After Party at Jackson's House"
17. World's End Press - "Feel City (Outskirts Dub)"
18. Roland Tings - "Swimmer"
19. Sleep D - "Austral Aura"