​Courage My Love Announce Major Label Debut with 'Synesthesia'

​Courage My Love Announce Major Label Debut with 'Synesthesia'
Kitchener, ON-based three-piece Courage My Love caught our attention a while back with their inspirational message to other LGBTQ youth and their cover of the Smiths' "Asleep" on Exclaim! TV, and now the band are set to release their major label debut.
Titled Synesthesia, the record will arrive on February 3 through Warner Music Canada.
The 14-track offering was recorded in Toronto, between Noble Studios and Pocket Studios, and its title refers to a condition in which "the stimulation of one sense leads to an automatic, involuntary reaction in another" — like hearing in colour. According to a press release, the name is intended to reflect the band's "newfound stylistic maturity."
The overarching aim of Synesthesia is to empower listeners. "We wanted it to be a message where if someone is going through something, where they're doubting themselves or are just in a bad situation, that they hear something in the album that makes them realize that they can make it out the other side," drummer Phoenix Arn-Horn said in a statement.
Arn-Horn's twin sister and singer/guitarist Mercedes added: "We didn't want to be stuck underneath a female-fronted rock band ceiling. We wanted to reach beyond that constraint and see where it would take us."
Phoenix attempted to get outside that box by teaching herself synth programming, which heavily impacted the sound on the new album.
Fans eager to experience that sound for themselves can pre-order the album here, where they'll receive instant downloads of "Stereo" and "Animal Heart." Below, you'll find the full tracklisting for Synesthesia, and you can also check out the lyric video for "Stereo."
1. Synesthesia
2. Animal Heart
3. Walls
4. Stereo
5. Love Hurts
6. Drowning
7. Tough Love
8. Two Headed Monster
9. Sight:Sound
10. Need Someone
11. Dirt
12. The Year I Disappeared
13. Never Gonna Change
14. Taste:Touch