Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band Announce DVD, Outtakes CD

Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band Announce DVD, Outtakes CD
Back in 2009, shortly after Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band delivered their sophomore set Outer South, the alt-country inflected rock outfit released an online documentary about the making of the album called One of My Kind. If you missed out the first time around, Oberst and co. are delivering a new cut of the film this spring, and it'll be accompanied by a bonus CD of outtakes.

Oberst's Team Love imprint will deliver the DVD/CD package May 15. According to a press sheet, filmmaker Philip Schaffart was not commissioned to film the band; rather, he was brought into the fold to tune guitars. That said, with his video camera in tow, he took to the road with the band and ended up chronicling the creation of Outer South.

"When I started filming, none of us had the intentions of turning what was being shot into a film, but the things we were seeing, feeling and capturing with the music proved to be inspiring in ways we were not prepared for," Schaffart said in a statement of the flick's evolution.

While he captured some live gigs early on, he eventually joined the Mystic Valley Band at the Sonic Ranch studio in El Paso. "Something was happening between the six members of the band musically that was effortless and natural in a way I had not seen before," Schaffart continued. "In Texas we started thinking that the footage could be turned into a documentary film." 

On top of the revelatory film, the new One of My Kind package will contain an 11-track CD featuring four songs off the tour-exclusive Gentleman's Pact EP, as well as seven unreleased takes. You can check out the tracklisting, as well as a trailer for the film, down below.

One of My Kind:

1. "One of My Kind"

2. "Gentleman's Pact"

3. "Corina, Corina"

4. "Synesthete Song"

5. "Breezy"

6. "Central City"

7. "I Got the Reason #1"

8. "Phil's Song (Learn to Stop Time)"

9. "Normal"

10. "Kodachrome"

11. "White Shoes (Reprise)"

Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band - One of My Kind (trailer) from Ravenhouse LTD. on Vimeo.