Chelsea Wolfe Details 'Abyss,' Shares New Song

Chelsea Wolfe Details 'Abyss,' Shares New Song
Gloomy folk-metal songwriter Chelsea Wolfe teased a new LP called Abyss last week with promises that it would arrive this summer. Now, she has fleshed out the album details and confirmed that it will drop on August 7 through Sargent House.

The album was produced by John Congleton (David Byrne, St. Vincent, Cloud Nothings) in Dallas. In statement, Wolfe had this to say of the new record: "Abyss is meant to have the feeling of when you're dreaming, and you briefly wake up, but then fall back asleep into the same dream, diving quickly into your own subconscious."

She further described it as a "score" to "the hazy afterlife… an inverted thunderstorm… the dark backward… the abyss of time."

The album cover is above and the 11-song tracklist is below. Scroll down past that to hear "Iron Moon," which is a wildly dynamic track with towering passages of crushing metal and whispered comedowns.


1. Carrion Flowers
2. Iron Moon
3. Dragged Out
4. Maw
5. Grey Days
6. After the Fall
7. Crazy Love
8. Simple Death
9. Survive
10. Color of Blood
11. The Abyss