Cabaret Voltaire Reveal 'Electro Punk to Techno Pop 1978-1985' Comp

Cabaret Voltaire Reveal 'Electro Punk to Techno Pop 1978-1985' Comp
Cult UK post-punk unit Cabaret Voltaire are continuing to celebrate the earlier parts of their career, with news that the long-promised #7885 (Electro Punk to Techno Pop 1978-1985) compilation will be making it into brick-and-mortar and digital retailers July 1 via Mute.

The collection was first announced in 2013, along with news of last year's Red Mecca repress and the #8385 (Collected Works 1983-1985) box set. Like the latter, #7885 (Electro Punk to Techno Pop 1978-1985) homes in on a specific period of time in Cabaret Voltaire's history, with a press release noting that the singles overview was curated by the band's Richard H. Kirk.

"I decided to gather the more concise elements of the work," he said in a statement. "Hence the choice of 7-inch singles, edits and shorter album tracks, a kind of sound bite take on CV."

The collection preserves tracks from two different eras of the band, from the three-piece lineup of Kirk, Stephen Mallinder and Chris Watson between 1978 and '81, to the 1983-85 period after Watson left the band. Presumably, the first covers the "electro punk" portion of the collection, while the sans-Watson era represents the "techno pop."

Of the latter period, Kirk explains that it "was a time where we got to do what we do, but in different areas, we wanted to push the boundaries of electronic music, we wanted to place what we were doing into places where it really shouldn't be. We certainly didn't want to carry on repeating what we'd done for the ten years previous."

To whet your whistle for Cabaret Voltaire's upcoming time capsule, you can stream the radio edit of "Crackdown" in the player beneath the tracklisting info.

#7885 (Electro Punk to Techno Pop 1978-1985):

1. Do The Mussolini (Headkick)
2. The Set Up
3. Nag Nag Nag
4. On Every Other Street
5. Silent Command
6. Kneel To The Boss
7. Seconds Too Late
8. Landslide
9. Breathe Deep
10. Just Fascination (7-inch Version)
11. Crackdown (Radio Edit 83)
12. The Dream Ticket (7-inch Version)
13. Sensoria (7-inch Version)
14. James Brown (7-inch Version)
15. Kino (7-inch Version)
16. Big Funk (7-inch Version)
17. I Want You (7-inch Version)
18. Warm