Björk and Dirty Projectors' 'Mount Wittenburg Orca' Gets Physical Release

Björk and Dirty Projectors' 'Mount Wittenburg Orca' Gets Physical Release
While it's been over a year since Björk and Brooklyn art rockers Dirty Projectors released their collaborative Mount Wittenburg Orca, no doubt many noticed that the release was only issued digitally. If, by chance, you were hoping to spin the environmentally-tinged song cycle on your turntable, your prayers have just been answered. The EP will be getting a proper physical release this fall.

Domino will be issuing the EP on CD and vinyl for the first time on October 25 in North America and a day earlier overseas. The limited vinyl version features a deluxe three-dimensional lenticular sleeve, a deluxe 12-page, large-format, full-colour booklet, and will be hand-numbered. Extra limited copies will include a photo print of the album cover signed by the band.

Dirty Projectors leader Dave Longstreth wrote the seven-song set in 2009 "following a conversation with Björk about the small theatres in Italy where opera was born in the 1500s." It was performed in Brooklyn by all the following month. Busy scheduled prevented the troupe from recording the songs until 2010.

Originally sold as a download, Mount Wittenburg Orca has gone on to raise over $40,000 to promote sustainable ocean programs. The album's website can still be accessed here, with all monies going towards studying and preserving the world's oceans via the National Geographic Society.

Mount Wittenburg Orca:

1. "Ocean"
2."On and Ever Onward"
3. "When the World Comes to an End"  
4. "Beautiful Mother"  
5. "Sharing Orb"  
6. "No Embrace"  
7. "All We Are"