Bibio Returns with 'Silver Wilkinson'

Bibio Returns with 'Silver Wilkinson'
English electronic musician Bibio (aka Stephen Wilkinson) served up an arsenal of sounds on his 2011 set Mind Bokeh, and the artist is ready to follow up that set with another sonic exploration he calls Silver Wilkinson. Warp Records delivers the set on May 14 in North America and a day earlier in the UK.

A rather lengthy statement from the artist explains that while he didn't want to limit the possibilities of the set too much, he aimed "to focus more on an organic and live sound and to record more guitar and other live instrumentation." 

The 11-song set was primarily tracked at Bibio's home studio, but he added that he occasionally wandered outside for some field recordings. New tune "À tout à l'heure," which you can stream down below, had Wilkinson capturing acoustic 12-string strums, the snip of garden shears and the percussive tones of a watering can in his garden.

Of album track "Dye the Water Green," he added: "I remember going into my brick-wall shed in the garden for a change of scenery and to capture the sound of rain on the tin roof, I remember recording additional musical ideas around a guitar riff I had previously come up with, capturing them to an old ghetto blaster. I remember feeling at the time that I wouldn't have come up with the same things if I was in my studio. I think putting yourself in different environments affects how you feel and act and essentially can lead to more variety."

You can see the cover art for Silver Wilkinson above and the tracklist below.

Silver Wilkinson:

1. The First Daffodils

2. Dye the Water Green

3. Wulf

4. Mirroring All

5. À tout à l'heure

6. Sycamore Silhouetting

7. You

8. Raincoat

9. Look at Orion!

10. Business Park

11. You Won't Remember...