Ben Folds Reflects on 'What Matters Most' with First Album in Eight Years

Hear "Winslow Gardens" now

BY Alex HudsonPublished Feb 15, 2023

Wry piano-playing songwriter Ben Folds has announced his latest solo album. What Matters Most is out on June 2 via New West Records, and he has shared the single "Winslow Gardens" as a preview.

Folds said in a statement, "There's a lifetime of craft and experience all focused into this one record. Sonically, lyrically, emotionally, I don't think it's an album I could have made at any other point in my career."

The album was co-produced by Folds along with Joe Pisapia, and it features appearances from dodie, Tall Heights and Ruby Amanfu. It's Folds's first album since 2015's So There. He released the memoir A Dream About Lightning Bugs: A Life of Music and Cheap Lessons in 2019.

What Matters Most is available to pre-order here. Folds is hitting the road in support of the record, but there currently aren't any dates in Canada; see the schedule here.

Scroll past the jaunty, reflective "Winslow Gardens" below to see What Matters Most's tracklist.

What Matters Most:   

1. But Wait, There's More
2. Clouds with Ellipses (feat. dodie)
3. Exhausting Lover
4. Fragile
5. Kristine from the 7th Grade
6. Back to Anonymous
7. Winslow Gardens
8. Paddleboat
9. What Matters Most
10. Moments (feat. Tall Heights)

Latest Coverage