Beacon Announce Debut Album for Ghostly International

Beacon Announce Debut Album for Ghostly International
While Brooklyn minimalist R&B outfit Beacon set off on tour with How to Dress Well last year to support a couple of previously released EPs, the band also peppered their sets with songs from an impending full-length. The outfit have now delivered details on the debut LP, The Ways We Separate, which Ghostly International drops April 30.

A press release explains that, as the album title implies, the 10-song set focuses on the idea of separation "within the context of relationships and in a more intimate, psychological sense." Album track "Between the Waves" reflects this by drawing an analogy between personal relationships and soundwaves ("I know all the ways we separate / Where we start to fade at different frequencies").

"The narrative contained inside The Ways We Separate deals with two kinds of separation: one where two entities grow apart, and the other where we grow apart from ourselves," band member Thomas Mullarney said in a statement. "Over the course of a relationship, the two sometimes happen together, one being the result of the other."

Sonically, Mullarney and project partner Jacob Gossett apparently tweaked the blueprint set up on their 2012 EPs No Body and For Now by adding more layers of analog synths, processed guitar work and textured vocals, which gives The Ways We Separate a "richer sonic palette."

"We spent a lot of time exploring new gear and experimenting with how to pull a wide range of sound out of various instruments," Gossett confirmed.

The song cycle is said to feature bleak but beautiful arrangements, and is "discomfiting and darkly seductive." You can stream floaty new tune "Bring You Back" down below.

The Ways We Separate:

1. Bring You Back

2. Feeling's Gone

3. Between The Waves

4. Drive

5. Overseer

6. Late November

7. Studio Audience 

8. Headlights

9. Anthem

10. Split In Two