Beachwood Sparks to Issue Unreleased Album 'Desert Skies'

Beachwood Sparks to Issue Unreleased Album 'Desert Skies'
Last year, psych-country vets Beachwood Sparks released The Tarnished Gold, their first album in over a decade. Now that they're back in the public consciousness, they've dug an unreleased record out of the archives. Desert Skies is due out on November 26 through Alive Naturalsound Records.

The collection dates back to the group's early days, when they were a six-piece. It was made in the late '90s, before any of their other albums and had been intended for bassist Brent Rademaker's label Christmas/xmAs.

This release features remastered and unheard mixes. A number of these songs were released as singles or appeared on 2000's debut album Beachwood Sparks. According to a press release, "Desert Skies is a homemade Southern Californian affair, a time machine that sends you back to the time of their defining summer residency at Spaceland in Silver Lake when the band was regionally known for its dynamic live shows."

A limited-edition pressing on very cool-looking starburst-coloured vinyl is available to pre-order here. This comes with a 7-inch, a poster and the CD version. Note that CD and digital copies include a few bonus cuts not found on the vinyl.

Desert Skies:

1. Desert Skies

2. Make It Together

3. Time

4. Watery Moonlight

5. This Is What He Feels Like

6. Sweet Julie Ann

7. Canyon Ride

8. Midsummer Daydream

9. Charm (version 2) (CD/digital only)

10. Desert Skies (C.O.2 version) (CD/digital only)

11. Make It Together (Warm Summer version) (CD/digital only)

12. Time (original version) (CD/digital only)