Applescal Unveils 'For' LP, Premieres New Track

Applescal Unveils 'For' LP, Premieres New Track
In our review of last year's Mirage EP, we praised Dutch producer Applescal for "slowly morphing his sound from traditional melodic techno into more experimental electronic music." This year, his evolution will continue with the album For, which will be out on May 18 via Atomnation.

A press release notes that this album harkens back to the sound of Applescal's early efforts while also "delving into deeper and darker sonic terrains, resulting in what can only be described as a downright overwhelming listening experience." The music ranges from electro grooves to more downtempo, contemplative numbers.

The 10-song tracklist is below. Note that New Zealand composer Rhian Sheehan is featuring on closing cut "Borrowing the Past." The album will be available on the usual vinyl, CD and digital formats.

Scroll down to the bottom of the page to hear the premiere of "Airports," on which airy synths float above a brightly dreamy dance beat.


1. Like You Do
2. Matter
3. For Lovers
4. Overseas
5. Moabit
6. Flutes in the Air
7. Japanese Bubbles
8. Where Are You
9. Airports
10. Borrowing the Past (ft. Rhian Sheehan)