Anika Announces Covers-Heavy Self-Titled EP

Anika Announces Covers-Heavy Self-Titled EP
It's been two years since Anika dropped her "No One's There" / "Yang Yang" single, but the Berlin-based electro artist has announced her return via a covers-heavy self-titled EP, which drops this April via Stones Throw.

A press release explains that the six-song collection was tracked in Bristol, UK at State of Art Studios, with Beak> members Billy Fuller and Matt Williams, with production duties handled by Beak> and Portishead's Geoff Barrow. Anika's live band members, Andy Sutor (drums) and Rasha Shaheen (keys/vocals/guitar), also figure on the recording.

The EP offers up four covers, with toasted acts including the Kinks ("I Go To Sleep"), the Crystals ("He Hit Me"), and Netherlands rock troupe Shocking Blue ("Love Buzz"). The most contemporary cut on the mini-effort is a decadent cover of Portland noir pop players the Chromatics' "In the City," which you can stream down below.

Interestingly, the EP concludes with two dub-style remixes of "No One's There" and "Yang Yang," which had both appeared in altered form on Anika's self-titled 2010 debut album.

A video for "I Go To Sleep" was recently shot in Brandenburg, Germany, but has yet to be unveiled.


1. I Go To Sleep

2. He Hit Me

3. Love Buzz

4. In The City

5. No One's There (dub)

6. Yang Yang (dub)