A Winged Victory for the Sullen Announce New Album

Hear two songs from 'The Undivided Five' now
A Winged Victory for the Sullen Announce New Album
Nearly three years removed from entering the world of film scores, Stars of the Lid offshoot A Winged Victory for the Sullen have detailed a new studio album.

The duo of Adam Wiltzie and Dustin O'Halloran will release The Undivided Five on November 1 through Ninja Tune, marking their first effort for the label.

Alongside the announcement, the duo have shared two songs from the nine-track effort ahead of time. You can hear both "The Rhythm of a Dividing Pair" and "The Haunted Victorian Pencil" in the players below.

Wiltzie expanded on the former in a press release:

We were looking to create some melodic palettes within simple but different analog sounds and were fortunate to procure two vintage and extremely overpriced synthesizers: a Korg PS 3100 and Roland Jupiter 8 plus Dustin has a vintage Prophet 5 in his studio. So there we were and suddenly we did something we almost never do... we started jamming. As you know jamming has become sort of an icky word in these "we-are-serious-composer times" but on this particular occasion the resonance of the sounds that were coming out of the machines led us to something we were both quite pleased with! In the end it turned out to be a valid stylisation as we found a way to anchor it within the context of the sound of the record. The second half of the song takes a big swing in the direction of a large string ensemble but as things go when you're making music sometimes improvisational jams need company.

A Winged Victory for the Sullen scored French thriller Iris in 2016 and released their Atomos album in 2014.

The Undivided Five:

1. Our Lord Debussy
2. Sullen Sonata
3. The Haunted Victorian Pencil
4. The Slow Descent Has Begun
5. Aqualung, Motherfucker
6. A Minor Fifth Is Made of Phantoms
7. Adios, Florida
8. The Rhythm of a Dividing Pair
9. Keep It Dark, Deutschland