Courtney Barnett Unveils Debut LP, Shares "Pedestrian at Best" Video

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Jan 29, 2015

After supporting her The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas for the last couple of years, Courtney Barnett has announced she's about to deliver something meatier: her debut LP. Titled Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit, the critically favoured Aussie songsmith's first full-length release lands on March 24 via Mom + Pop.

According to a press release, Barnett and her band recorded the 11-song set last fall at Melbourne's Head Gap Studio. Barnett explained in a statement that the song cycle touches on various aspects of her day-to-day, noting: "My songs follow me as a normal human with normal emotions. So there are great highs and great lows. They span everything in my life."

You can get an idea of some of her experiences via a newly released video for first single "Pedestrian at Best." The crunchy, near spoken-word rock cut has Barnett noting a need to "express my disinterest," wanting to soak her mind in turpentine, and detailing various other "erroneous, unharmonious" moments in her life. The video finds her in the role of a down-in-the-dumps clown.

You'll find the clip down beneath the album's tracklist info.

Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit:

1. Elevator Operator

2. Pedestrian at Best

3. An Illustration of Loneliness (Sleepless in NY)

4. Small Poppies

5. Depreston

6. Aqua Profunda!

7. Dead Fox

8. Nobody Really Cares if You Don't Go to the Party

9. Debbie Downer

10. Kim's Caravan

11. Boxing Day Blues

Latest Coverage