Shabazz Palaces Announce New Album 'The Don of Diamond Dreams'

Hear the record's first single "Fast Learner"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Feb 26, 2020

After delivering a pair of albums in 2017, Shabazz Palaces have readied a follow-up effort. Titled The Don of Diamond Dreams, the record arrives April 17 through Sub Pop.

Ten tracks in length, The Don of Diamond Dreams features collaborations with Stas THEE Boss (ex-THEESatisfaction) and Purple Tape Nate, on top of contributions from keyboardist/vocalist Darrius Willrich, percussionist Carlos Niño, saxophonist Carlos Overall, Knife Knights collaborator OCnotes and bassist Evan Flory-Barnes.

You can hear the Purple Tape Nate-assisted "Fast Learner" in the player below. 

The Don of Diamond Dreams was recorded throughout 2019 at Protect and Exalt: A Black Space in Seattle, mixed and engineered by Erik Blood with mixing assistance from Andy Kravitz at Studio 4 Labs in Venice, CA, and mastered by Scott Sedillo at Bernie Grundman Mastering in Los Angeles.

Shabazz Palaces released a pair of albums in 2017: Quazarz: Born on a Gangster Star and Quazarz vs. The Jealous Machines. That same year, the group's Ishmael Butler shared music with Oneohtrix Point Never as 319.

Last year, Shabazz Palaces appeared on albums from Flying Lotus and Battles

The Don of Diamond Dreams is now available for pre-order.

The Don of Diamond Dreams:

1. Portal North: Panthera
2. Ad Ventures
3. Fast Learner (ft. Purple Tape Nate)
4. Wet
5. Chocolate Souffle
6. Portal South: Micah
7. Bad Bitch Walking (ft. Stas THEE Boss)
8. Money Yoga (ft. Darrius)
9. Thanking the Girls
10. Reg Walks By the Looking Glass (ft. Carlos Overall)

Latest Coverage