Philip H. Anselmo, Child Bite, Municipal Waste Salute Celtic Frost on Tribute LP

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Sep 10, 2015

We're creeping up to the 30th anniversary of Swiss extreme metal crew Celtic Frost's undeniably unholy To Mega Therion album, so a host of contemporary bangers are getting together to celebrate the band on a new tribute LP. Featuring tragic serenades from Philip H. Anselmo, Municipal Waste, members of Neurosis and more, Morbid Tales: A Tribute to Celtic Frost lands as a 12-inch vinyl release November 13 via Corpse Flower Records.

The compilation arrives one year after Corpse Flower teamed up with CV Comics for Morbid Tales! An Illustrated Tribute to Celtic Frost, a 155-page book that featured illustrated anecdotes of metal vets reflecting on Tom G. Warrior and the rest of Celtic Frost. The audio companion features a swath of Celtic Frost supporters putting their own twist on a handful of tunes.

Down/Superjoint frontman Philip H. Anselmo has hooked up with Detroit noise-rock weirdoes Child Bite for a cover of "The Usurper," with Anselmo seemingly usurping Warrior's command of the mic for the recording. Hayward, joined by Neurosis' Scott Kelly and Jason Roeder, handle To Mega Therion's "Jewel Throne," while that album's "Dawn of Megiddo" is reworked on Morbid Tales by Evoken.

Thrashers Municipal Waste have contributed a cover of "Nocturnal Fear," which had originally been released by Celtic Frost on 1984's Morbid Tales.

Other acts involved in the tribute include Acid Witch, Persekutor, Temple of Void and Coffin's Slave, who grabbed Repulsion's Scott Carlson for a run-through of "Dance Sleazy." The set also comes with a digital download code that includes Black Anvil's attempt at "Dethroned Emperor," while a bonus flexi-disc features a cover of Warrior's pre-Celtic Frost project, Hellhammer, courtesy of Coffin's Slave.

You'll find all of the tracklisting details, as well as an album trailer, down below. Pre-order info can be found here.

Morbid Tales: A Tribute To Celtic Frost:

1. Child Bite with Philip H. Anselmo - "The Usurper"
2. Persekutor - "Procreation Of The Wicked"
3. Acid Witch - "Cherry Orchards"
4. Temple Of Void - "Os Abysmi Vel Daath"
5. Municipal Waste - "Nocturnal Fear"
6. Hayward - "Jewel Throne" (ft. Scott Kelly, Jason Roeder)
7. Coffin's Slave - "Dance Sleazy" (ft. Scott Carlson of Repulsion)
8. Evoken - "Dawn Of Megiddo"
9. Black Anvil - "Dethroned Emperor" (MP3 only)
10. Coffins Slave - "Reaper" (Hellhammer cover) (flexi-disc only)

Latest Coverage