Xiu Xiu Announce 'Angel Guts: Red Classroom' LP, Premiere New Track

Xiu Xiu Announce 'Angel Guts: Red Classroom' LP, Premiere New Track
Xiu Xiu have plans to issue a Nina Simone covers LP in December, but the group have now announced that an album of original material is set for release early next year as well. Titled Angel Guts: Red Classroom, it arrives February 4 through Polyvinyl Records.

A press release notes that the LP was crafted by project founder Jamie Stewart following a move from North Carolina into a "dangerous" neighbourhood of Los Angeles inhabited by gangs and near "a lake routinely dragged for bodies." The move apparently sent the band's music from "from grayness into the deepest blackness endurable."

Named after a Japanese erotic film, the lyrical content is said to weigh in on topics like "racialized sex, double suicide, double penetration, criminality, fear of physical harm," with a patchwork of '70s analog synths a drum machine sounds nodding to acts like Suicide and Einst├╝rzende Neubauten.

You can sample the menacing, falsetto-sung pulser "Stupid in the Dark" beneath the tracklisting.

Ahead of Angel Guts: Red Classroom, Xiu Xiu's Nina hits stores December 2 through Graveface.

Angel Guts: Red Classroom:

1. Angel Guts:
2. Archie's Fades
3. Stupid in the Dark
4. Lawrence Liquors
5. Black Dick
6. New Life Immigration
7. EL Naco
8. Adult Friends
9. The Silver Platter
10. Bitter Melon
11. A Knife in the Sun
12. Cinthya's Unisex
13. Botanica de Los Angeles
14. :Red Classroom