Xfm Announces Short List for Its New Music Award

Xfm Announces Short List for Its New Music Award
Using the Mercury Music Prize as inspiration for its model, British radio channel Xfm has announced its shortlist for the Xfm New Music Award. Decided by listeners whose votes were counted to pick the top ten records for consideration. The judging panel deciding on the winner consists of representatives from all four Xfm stations - John Kennedy (X-posure in London, Manchester and South Wales), Clint Boon from Xfm Manchester, Jim Gellatly from Xfm Scotland and Colin Francies from Xfm South Wales - as well as musicians like Paul Smith (Maximo Park) and Nicky Wire (Manic Street Preacher), producers like John Leckie (Radiohead, the Stone Roses) and journalists like NME editor Conor McNicholas.

The winner will be decided on January 16 at a ceremony that will feature all of the nominees perform in front of Xfm listeners, music industry VIPs and the Xfm judging panel at London's KOKO venue.

And the nominees are...

Air Traffic Fractured Life
The Enemy We'll Live and Die In These Towns
Frank Turner Sleep Is For The Week
Kate Nash Made Of Bricks
Klaxons Myths Of The Near Future
The Maccabees Colour It In
The Pigeon Detectives Wait For Me
The Twang Love It When I Feel Like This
The View Hats Off To The Buskers
The Wombats Proudly Present... A Guide To Love, Loss and Desperation

(Judging by the competition, this is clearly Klaxons' award to lose.)