Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard Announce New Collaborative Album

Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard Announce New Collaborative Album
Way back in 1983, country icons Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard scored a hit with their collaborative album Pancho & Lefty. Now, more than 30 years later, they're back with another full-length team-up, this time called Django and Jimmie.

The album will be out on June 2 through Legacy Recordings. It was produced by Nelson's frequent collaborator Buddy Cannon, who also helped to write a number of the songs. The title track is named after influential jazz guitarist Django Reinhardt and yodelling country pioneer Jimmie Rodgers.

Beyond that, there's a tribute to the Man in Black called "Missing Ol' Johnny Cash" and a cover of Bob Dylan's "Don't Think Twice, It's Alright." Elsewhere on the album, Nelson covers Haggard's "Somewhere Between," and Haggard covers Nelson's "Family Bible."

In a statement, Nelson said about the collaboration, "It's good music, I got a good feeling about it."

While Legacy previously launched a series of archival Willie Nelson albums, the recordings on Django and Jimmie are all new. See the tracklist below and the cover art above.

Django and Jimmie:

1. Django and Jimmie
2. It's All Going to Pot
3. Unfair Weather Friend
4. Missing Ol' Johnny Cash
5. Live This Long
6. Alice in Hulaland
7. Don't Think Twice, It's Alright
8. Family Bible
9. It's Only Money
10. Swinging Doors
11. Where Dreams Come to Die
12. Somewhere Between
13. Driving the Herd
14. The Only Man Wilder Than Me