Wildbirds & Peacedrums Compile Limited EPs on Rivers

Wildbirds & Peacedrums Compile Limited EPs on <i>Rivers</i>
Swedish experimentalists Wildbirds & Peacedrums are no strangers to defying convention: their two previous albums, 2007's Heartcore and 2008's The Snake, disregarded typical genre boundaries, mixing psychedelic folk with throat signing, tribal rhythms and electronic textures. The duo will now follow those up with new LP Rivers.

Rather than a typical album release, the record is actually a double EP, combining previous releases Retina and Iris. The EPs each contain five songs and were released earlier this year as limited-edition twelve-inches.

While this isn't the first time these songs have been released to the public, they have not previously been available in CD or digital formats. The CD version will be packaged as two separate discs.

FACT reports that the two EPs were recorded and mixed in a single week in Iceland, and both address "themes of reflection, light and water... emphasising instinct, emotional rawness and purity of expression over perfection."

Rivers is due out on August 23 in the UK via Leaf and out on August 24 in North America.


1. "Bleed Like There Was No Other Flood"
2. "Tiny Holes in This World"
3. "Under Land and Over Sea"
4. "Fight for Me"
5. "Peeling Off the Layers"

1. "The Wave"
2. "The Drop"
3. "The Course"
4. "The Lake"
5. "The Well"