Tough Age Announce Mint Records Debut, Premiere New Track

Tough Age Announce Mint Records Debut, Premiere New Track
Earlier this summer, fledgling Vancouver garage crew Tough Age announced they had signed to Mint Records, with plans to issue their full-length debut late in 2013. Now, the self-titled set has been fit with an official due date of November 12.

As previously reported, the record was tracked with producer/labelmate Jay Arner, and a press releases assures that the 11-song cycle features " charismatic, idiosyncratic pop songs for the ages." Touchstones referenced include everthing from Guided By Voices, to the Clean, to the bubblegum gooeyness of the Archies.

The press sheet also notes that the lyrics offered up by frontman/guitarist Jarrett K., formerly of Korean Gut and Apollo Ghosts, home in on "break-ups (both romantic and musical), dreaming of a different life" and "being mutually complicit in agony."

"I don't like therapy or drugs, so it's sort how I medicate myself," K. said in a statement of the band. "I write these songs to get rid of them. I don't cut myself, I just write a catchy ditty."

You can catch one such ditty, the spacey psych-pop jam "Sea of White," ahead of the LP's due date in the stream down below, where you'll also find the tracklisting and some upcoming Canadian tour dates.

Tough Age:

1. We're Both to Blame
2. The Heart of Juliet Jones
3. Coffin Foam
4. Sea of White
5. Have You Seen Her
6. Open it Up
7. Sea Horse
8. Dream Date
9. Cocaine Vouchers
10. I Waste Too Much Time on Myself
11. Hundo Pocket

Tour dates: 

08/22 Hamilton, ON - This Ain't Hollywood*

08/23 Toronto, ON - Imperial Lounge*

08/24 Windsor, ON - Phog Lounge*

08/25 St. Catharines, ON - Niagara Artists Center*

08/27 London, ON - Call the Office *

08/28 Guelph, ON - Van Gogh's Ear*

08/29 Kingston, ON - The Artel *

08/30 Ottawa, ON - Gabba Hey! *

08/31 Montreal, QC - Brasserie Beaubien*
09/01 Kitchener, ON - Uncross Your Arms Festival*