Surf City Return with 'We Knew It Was Not Going to Be Like This'

Surf City Return with 'We Knew It Was Not Going to Be Like This'
Auckland-bred combo Surf City went through some lineup changes since issuing their 2010 debut LP Kudos and will release their first LP as a trio, We Knew It Was Not Going to Be Like This, this fall via Fire Records.

A press release for the set, which Fire issues September 3, notes that following the tour cycle for Kudos, guitarist Josh Kennedy left the band to become a father, while singer/guitarist Davin Stoddard moved to New York City's Chinatown. That experience was chronicled in the newly revealed album track "NYC," which you can stream down below [via Consequence of Sound]. You can also hear the new track "It's a Common Life" at the bottom of the page.

Along with spending time in New York, Stoddard wrote material for the LP during a stint teaching English in South Korea, with the press sheet explaining that the lyrics reflect upon "the loneliness and introspection that can occur whilst travelling and spending a vast amount of time alone on buses or trains or in airports."

While Stoddard was inspired by the words of Bob Dylan, Scott Walker and Leonard Cohen, the tunes apparently retain the fuzzy influence of the Jesus and Mary Chain and the Clean.

We Knew It Was Not Going To Be Like This:

1. It's a Common Life

2. I Had the Starring Role

3. Song from a Short-Lived TV Series

4. NYC

5. Claims of a Galactic Medium

6. No Place to Go

7. I Want You

8. Oceanic Graphs of the Wilderness

9. What Gets Me By

10. Seven Sages of the Bamboo Grove (Bonus Track)