Stephen McBean's Grim Tower Reveal Debut LP: 'Anarchic Breezes'

Stephen McBean's Grim Tower Reveal Debut LP: 'Anarchic Breezes'
It's been about a year and a half since Black Mountain leader Stephen McBean first revealed his Grim Tower collaboration with Yeah Yeah Yeahs collaborator Imaad Wasif, and now the duo are finally set to issue their debut LP. Titled Anarchic Breezes, it drops May 21 via Outer Battery Records.

Described in a press release as an album of "new acoustic death folk," the 10-song record was tracked by McBean at his home studio in Los Angeles, with additional recording done by Rob Campanella at the Jonestown Studios. McBean and Wasif's songs reportedly home in on a "mutual interest in the darker traditions of song and detuning found in the American Primitive Archives." The duo are joined on the recording by bassist Rob Barbato and drummer Dan Allaire, who both play in Darker My Love.

You can preview some new Grim Tower material in the video for rustic album track "Reign Down," which features a banjo-plucking Wasif, a druids-robe-sporting McBean and a rather smart looking dog hanging out on a snowy peak.

In other news, stay tuned for updates regarding McBean's new hardcore band, Obliterations.

Anarchic Breezes:

1. Soft Seance
2. Reign Down
3. Orpheus Light
4. Mantis
5. All the Beautiful Things
6. Anarchic Breezes
7. Let Death Become Your Comfort
8. Blue
9. Leaving My Old Life Behind
10. Hang Me In Heaven