Speedy Ortiz Announce 10th Anniversary Reissue of 'Major Arcana'

The band's debut album has been remastered by Emily Lazar and Chris Allgood

Photo: Shervin Lainez

BY Kaelen BellPublished Sep 28, 2023

Speedy Ortiz released their first album in five years last month — the wiry, dense Rabbit Rabbit — but now the band is looking to the past with a 10th anniversary reissue of their debut album Major Arcana

Major Arcana (10th Anniversary Edition) was remastered by Emily Lazar and Chris Allgood, and it's arriving November 17 on Carpark. Limited colour vinyl pressings of the LP come with photos from frontperson Sadie Dupuis's archives and liner notes by NPR Music's Lars Gotrich.

Of the reissue, Dupuis said in a statement:

Speedy made Major Arcana in a flash of momentum — four days of recording at Sonelab with our pal Justin Pizzoferrato, paid for with the cash we scrounged up on a summer tour of this country's basements. "Tour tight"-ness was always our paramount goal, and I'd say we were sufficiently road-tested when we hammered out these fourteen songs, all of them stuffed to the brim with harmonies, guitarmonies, percussion, key overdubs written on the fly. Though the 10 songs that made the album have morphed and mutated thanks to the stages they've graced across the past decade, when I listen back to the original recordings, I still hear our boundless energy, hunger for the highway, and excitement to play with our friends—and our dearest wish, to pay homage to the Massachusetts scenes that welcomed us so warmly.

Speedy Ortiz are currently on tour in support of Rabbit Rabbit. Revisit Major Arcana's "No Below" below. 

Latest Coverage