Spacemen 3 Live Album from 1989 Gets Official Vinyl Release

Spacemen 3 Live Album from 1989 Gets Official Vinyl Release
There have been a number of Spacemen 3 reissues in recent years, but the druggy psych band are digging into their archives to drop a previously recorded live album captured in 1989. Live at the New Morning, Geneva, 5.18.89 will be out on August 21 through Mental Groove Records.

This show has previously been available as a bootleg, but this official pressing shortens the concert by half by been removing the between-song tuning and chatter. It also excises an extra rendition of "Revolution," which the band played twice.

We can expect this set to sound like classic Spacemen 3, since a press release notes, "There's not much point me describing what Spacemen 3 sounded like because if you're looking at this then I'm pretty confident you're already familiar with their hypnotic psych-fuzz drug-pop."

The set includes a 29-minute rendition of "Suicide," which takes up the entirety of Side B. According to the sleeve notes, the band left the stage partway through the song while their equipment fed back, although it's apparently difficult to distinguish the exact point when this happens.

The liner notes were written by the band's own Sonic Boom, with the recording taken from the mixing board. A limited-edition version of the release will be pressed on splatter-coloured wax, and the picture sleeve uses a photo from the show.

It's available to pre-order here at Light in the Attic.

Live at the New Morning, Geneva, 5.18.89:

1. Rollercoaster
2. Things WIll Never Be the Same
3. Take Me to the Other Side
4. Starship
5. Bo Diddley Jam
6. Revolution
7. Suicide