South African Punks National Wake Get Anthology from Light in the Attic

South African Punks National Wake Get Anthology from Light in the Attic
Seattle's Light in the Attic Records has become a dependable source of stellar reissues, and now the esteemed label is helping to illuminate some Apartheid-era South African punk with a compilation from National Wake. The collection Walk in Africa 1979-81 is due out on October 8.

An announcement from Light in the Attic notes that the band released just one album in their brief career, 1981's self-titled LP, which was withdrawn due to pressure from the government. But their music has continued to circulate over the years; their album was reissued in 2011, and the band were featured in the 2012 documentary Punk In Africa, showcasing National Wake's mix of punk, reggae and tropical funk.

Co-founder Ivan Kadey has previously spoken about having a wealth of unheard material in the vaults, and this is the first time it has been released. "All of these recordings put together they speak of the whole evolution of the band," he said. "From a sort of naive, almost belief that we could miraculously change everything to realizing what a struggle it was, and what the country was going through and what it would go through."

This remastered anthology is available on CD or double-LP, with liner notes from Punk in Africa director Keith Jones. The first 150 online orders comes on green vinyl, while subscribers get it on red, blue and yellow splattered vinyl.

Pre-order copies are available here.

Walk in Africa 1979-81:

1. International News
2. It's All Right
3. Walk in Africa
4. Time and Place
5. Corner House Stone
6. Mercenaries
7. Wake of the Nation
8. Supaman
9. Speed It Up
10. Beat Up the Lights
11. Black Punk Rockers
12. Stratocaster
13. Everybody
14. Vatsiketeni