​SOCAN Songwriting Prize Finalists Announced

​SOCAN Songwriting Prize Finalists Announced
For the 11th consecutive year, SOCAN (the Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada) will award a $10,000 prize to one particularly impressive songwriter. Today (June 9), the 10 finalists for the 2016 competition were announced.

Included on the list are Cancon favourites and up-and-comers Spek Won, Jazz Cartier, Dilly Dally, Tobias Jesso Jr., Fast Romantics, Terra Lightfoot, Daniel Caesar, Modern Space, the Strumbellas and Andy Shauf. The full list of nominated songs can be found below.

A press release notes that the nominees reflect 10 "outstanding songs in English and French written and released by emerging songwriters over the past year."

The winner will be decided based on public voting. You can cast your vote through the SOCAN website here or on Twitter using the hashtag #mySSPvote along with the artist's name. Submissions are limited to one vote per platform per day.

The songwriting champ will be announced the week of July 4. In addition to the $10,000 cash prize, the winner will also be awarded a Godin guitar, a Yamaha keyboard and a $500 gift card to Long & McQuade.

Last year's prize went to Dear Rouge for the song "I Heard I Had."

Without further ado, here are the nominated tracks for this year's SOCAN Songwriting Prize (English) and Prix de la chanson SOCAN (French):

Spek Won - "Black Body"
Jazz Cartier - "Dead or Alive"
Dilly Dally - "Desire"
Tobias Jesso Jr. - "How Could You Babe"
Fast Romantics - "Julia"
Terra Lightfoot - "No Hurry"
Daniel Caesar - "Paradise" (ft. BADBADNOTGOOD)
Modern Space - "Pen to Paper"
The Strumbellas - "Spirits"
Andy Shauf - "Wendell Walker"

Feélix Dyotte - "Avalanches"
Claude Bégin - "Avant de disparaître"
Phillippe Brach - "Crystel"
Safia Nolin - "Igloo"
Les soeurs Boulay - "Les coûteaux à beurre"
Charlotte Cardin - "Les échardes"
Rosie Valland - "Olympe"
Alexe Gaudreault - "Placebo"
Laurence Nerbonne - "Rêves d'été"
Saratoga - "Saratoga"