Sloan Celebrate 20 Years with New LP, Share First Single

Sloan Celebrate 20 Years with New LP, Share First Single
It's been 20 years since Sloan first formed in Halifax, and they're showing no signs of slowing down. On May 10, the Canuck power pop veterans will celebrate two decades in the industry by releasing their 10th studio album, The Double Cross, via Outside Music in Canada and Yep Roc in the U.S.

According to a press release, the album contains "anthemic rockers followed by orchestral odes to another Fab Four, bookended by heart-on-their sleeves ballads and injected with classic rock boogie." It was recorded in the band's own Toronto studio from August to November of last year and contains songs written by all four members.

The title is a reference to Sloan's 20th anniversary (The Double Cross being "XX"). The band members promise that it will be another classic in the Sloan catalog. The group's Jay Ferguson said, "I personally feel it's up there with my favourites of ours such as One Chord to Another and Never Hear the End of It. Short and sweet with unexpected turns down different paths. Not bad for a 10th LP."

Sloan's Patrick Pentland added, "In the end, you can't escape that Sloan sound."

See the tracklist below and go here to listen to a stream of the pounding, eclectic first single "Follow the Leader."

The Double Cross:

1. "Follow the Leader"
2. "The Answer Was You"
3. "Unkind"
4. "Shadow of Love"
5. "She's Slowing Down Again"
6. "Green Gardens, Cold Montreal"
7. "It's Plain to See"
8. "Your Daddy Will Do"
9. "I've Gotta Know"
10. "Beverly Terrace"
11. "Traces"
12. "Laying So Low"