Sepultura Detail 'The Mediator Between Head and Hands Must Be the Heart'

Sepultura Detail 'The Mediator Between Head and Hands Must Be the Heart'
Brazilian-bred metal vets Sepultura revealed the album title for their The Mediator Between Head and Hands Must Be the Heart LP earlier this summer, but have now gone on to share the accompanying cover art and tracklisting.

As a press release confirms, the LP officially arrives in North America on October 22 through Nuclear Blast. The charcoal-derived artwork, which you can see up above, was done by Brazilian artist Alexandre Wagner, whom guitarist Andreas Kisser discovered through a roadie. Kisser and Wagner met up before Sepultura headed out to the U.S. to track the LP and discussed the album's concept, which is loosely based on Fritz Lang's 1927 film Metropolis.

"In the movie, a crazy millionaire wants to transform a robot into a real person. That's kind of the opposite of what we live today," Kisser had previously said in a statement. "More than ever we are robotized, through the worldwide web, Google glasses, chips under our skins and the globalized slavery our society suffers nowadays. The phrase points to the heart as being the human factor who keeps a man, a man, not a robot. The heart beats with freedom of choice, we have to think by ourselves to create a real world, not a matrix."

The album features 10 new tracks and a pair of bonus cuts. All were recorded in Venice, CA, with producer Ross Robinson, who had also recorded the act's Roots LP from 1996. As previously reported, The Mediator also features contributions from ousted Slayer drummer Dave Lombardo.

Kisser has called the song cycle "brutal, fast and straight to the point," while adding that the record features no studio tricks.

"We were jamming together in the room exploding in an energy so strong you could grab it. The heart will never stop beating for mankind, we are no robots, we are pure natural energy and that's worth fighting for. We're not slaves, I have a pulsing heart!"

The Mediator Between Head and Hands Must Be the Heart:

1. Trauma of War

2. The Vatican

3. Impending Doom

4. Manipulation of Tragedy

5. Tsunami

6. The Bliss of Ignorants

7. Grief

8. The Age of the Atheist

9. Obsessed

10. Da Lama ao Caos (Chico Science & Nação Zumbi cover)
11. Stagnate State of Affairs *

12. Zombie Ritual (Death cover) *

* Bonus track