Sam Prekop Unveils 'The Republic' Solo Album, Shares New Track

Sam Prekop Unveils 'The Republic' Solo Album, Shares New Track
Sea and Cake frontman Sam Prekop is jumping back into the solo game, having announced he has another synth-spiked set on the way. The Republic lands via longtime label Thrill Jockey on February 24.

According to a press release, the follow-up to Prekop's 2010 music concrete experiment Old Punch Card finds the musician using a series of oscillators, sequencers and limiters to produce "surprising and inviting" tones.

The first half of the album mines material produced to accompany a video installation by visual artist David Hartt. Also called The Republic, the exhibit opened in New York last spring, with Prekop's work described as "seamlessly transitioning from abstraction and discord into passages of blissful harmonic consonance."

The collection was tracked at Prekop's Chicago home in early 2014 and also includes five extra tracks that apparently worked better as individual pieces than as part of Hartt's video installation. You'll catch a stream of one of those tracks, the serene "Weather Vane," down below.

That's the feline-friendly album art above.

Though dates have yet to be confirmed, Prekop will apparently take his synthscapes on the road throughout 2015.

The Republic:

1. The Republic 1
2. The Republic 2
3. The Republic 3
4. The Republic 4
5. The Republic 5
6. The Republic 6
7. The Republic 7
8. The Republic 8
9. The Republic 9
10. Weather Vane
11. The Loom
12. Ghost
13. Invisible
14. A Geometric
15. Music in Pairs