The Rosebuds Announce Loud Planes Fly Low

The Rosebuds Announce <i>Loud Planes Fly Low</i>
It's been a few years since North Carolina indie rock duo the Rosebuds released their last album, Life Like. That record was a return to their brooding pop past, sidestepping the glitzy, synth-laden ways of 2007's Night of the Furies. Fans of the band will be glad to know that the outfit are back, but considering the wild shifts of their last two discs, who's to say how this new one will sound?

Titled Loud Planes Fly Low, the Rosebuds' fifth album will be released June 7 via longtime label Merge Records. A couple of teasers for the set have already appeared, each portraying a different side to the band.

The Rosebuds recently posted new tune "Second Bird of Paradise," a moody, late-night indie disco number about "complicated dance moves" that features hushed vocals, violin swells and a downtrodden Wurlitzer lick. You can download it below for the price of an email addy.

A trailer for the album, meanwhile, features a much more upbeat number to complement footage of band members Kelly Crisp and Ivan Howard smiling and cavorting around, either playing acoustic guitars and accordions or hanging out in short shorts. You can watch that below as well.

Loud Planes Fly Low:

1. "Go Ahead"

2. "Limitless Arms"

3. "Second Bird of Paradise"

4. "Come Visit Me"

5. "Without a Focus"

6. "Waiting for You"

7. "Woods"

8. "A Story"

9. "Cover Ears"

10. "Worthwhile"

The Rosebuds - Loud Planes Fly Low from 521studies on Vimeo.